Dear Technology,

neo
It’s time to pull the plug.
I’m not sure we have a healthy relationship. It seems like we’re always together. I need some breathing room. I don’t get to bask in sunshine anywhere near the amount that I want to. I’ve also been missing out on the shade.
I’m not sure we’ve got a healthy relationship. It seems like every time I want to do some yard-work, or clean the dishes, or read a book, I’ve got something more important to do with you.
And I like that you spoil me—you give me anything I want as soon as I want it—but ever since instant gratification, I’ve lost my ability to be patient. I’m sorry, but between lightning-fast information, access to limitless music and videos, and my ability to nuke a hot pocket in under 2 minutes, I just don’t feel like waiting for much of anything anymore. Seriously, I have to force myself to cook anything that takes 20 minutes, like rice. This just isn’t working out.
I think I need some space. You might be upset, but can you really blame me? It seems like every time I sit down to do something quiet, nice, or intelligent, the person I’m with has some kind of phone alert that they need to respond to. It usually happens when I’m about to say something awesome. The other person always tells me that they’re listening, and I always have to repeat myself. Sometimes I even forget the awesome thing that I was going to say. And, besides, you can’t reconstruct a moment. They come and go on their own.
Technology, what it comes down to is that you’re interfering with my life. I never invited you in this far, but somehow, you’re here.
It’s time to back up. I’m sorry.
Ezikiel Strawberry

Leave a comment

Filed under Technology, Uncategorized

Whaddya think?

