A Steaming Pile of Windows 8

Windows 8 seems to be a steaming pile of baboon dung. Free market’s cool, but I cannot physically operate Windows 8 without feeling like the entire experience is conditioning me to buy stuff I don’t need. Naw, worse. It’s conditioning me to be in a constant position and frame of mind to mindlessly purchase.

The applications are just there. All the time. But I don’t want to rely on apps–***********8*I need more, always I need more, because my life isn’t fulfilling but applications shall fulfill me, and I feel comforted in knowing that I have access to applications on all devices that I own********8***–The new format really seems to be designed to force me into buy-mode.

But what really bothers me is that diabolical fucking start menu. This Lucifer hell-spawn distraction from the abyss is just completely intent on drawing me in to clicking on things that I don’t want to devote any time to. But now I have to, because if I want to get to the internet I have to look at all the other shit there, and get good at ignoring things–all those little squares I don’t want to see, like video games or movies. Are people really unintelligent, to the point where they need colored squares with I.Q.-lower-than-70 icons printed on them?

What is the reason for the corporate attitude that I haven’t got a brain? Or, if I’ve got one, that I should’t use it? The concept of icons is to use recognition as an immediate response, so I don’t have to think–“oh, a video game controller–if I click that, I get to play.” Or: “Oh, a musical note.”

I already have a hard enough time surviving in this world of constant streaming live information overload. But I’m afraid it’s only going to become more difficult in the future.

1 Comment

04/29/2013 · 4:26 AM

One response to “A Steaming Pile of Windows 8

Whaddya think?

